Skip to page content

The American Musical Instrument Society


The Curt Sachs Award 2017

Malcolm Bilson

Malcolm Bilson

The 2017 award was presented to Bilson “in recognition of his pioneering advocacy of the fortepiano, its repertoire and performance practices; his magnificent recordings of early piano music, particularly the complete piano concertos of Mozart; his generous support of builders who replicate early keyboards; his infectious enthusiasm and eloquence in cultivating new audiences of historically informed listeners; and his tireless dedication to educating new generations of fortepiano players, during his career in the Cornell University Department of Music and in countless lectures, workshops, and master classes throughout the world.”

©2007 American Musical Instrument Society Website managed by D. Newton/